Day 618

Posted: November 1, 2014 in Le voyage

It’s been quite a while since my last update, and in case any of you are wondering as to the current state of my skin, I reckon it’s time for an update. School started in August, and having just came out of a flare that spanned the June-July period, I was having relatively clearer skin then. I then had a flare between mid September and mid October. The flare wasn’t like the multiple episodes of rage I had experienced earlier on in my withdrawal. It was kinder, though still intense enough to inflict on me misery and a very heightened sense of self consciousness, especially so when I was constantly in the company of other students – some of whom I had to work with. I was scratching and shedding quite a bit. I couldn’t sleep very well at night. Compound that with work in school, September-October wasn’t exactly easy.

By mid October, I was clearly coming out of another flare, and for the past 2.5 weeks, my skin has been good. I am back to wearing short sleeves and Bermudas in school – something of a necessity given the humid and warm weather here in Singapore. I am sure there will be more episodes of flares to come, but I am just enjoying my break for now. I am now past my 20th month, and really hoping for things to pick themselves up from here. I have been indulging in unhealthy allergic food ever since coming out of the flare, and am quite confident to say that there is no direct causative relation between diet and my skin – at least for myself. I have always been cautious with what I put into my mouth for fear of allergy, but I guess they were all unduly.

Exams will start at the end of the month, shortly after which my first semester in university will end. I will post more pictures on my flares and recoveries then. For now, my skin is good and may it remain so!

Leave a Reply

